Axemaster was formed in 1985 by lead guitarist Joe Sims. The project and music has stood the test of time and remains strong after over 30 years.

With the band's original lineup they recorded their first 4 releases: "Slave to the Blade" (demo EP cassette), "Blessing in the Skies" (full length album), "The Vision" (shaped pictured disc single), and "Crusades" (shaped picture disc single), the last 3 being released by Azra International Records. They were also featured on Azra Record's compilation shaped picture record "Metalgon" and in the comedy/horror movie "Killer Nerd".

Several lineup changes followed as the band recorded their next 2 releases: "Death Before Dishonor" (full length cassette, European-only release) and "5 Demons (Imperative is their Demise)" (self-released EP cassette). Joe Sims is the only original member to remain and play on every release. After this the band altered their musical direction and changed the name to The Awakening.

Four years later, Unisound Records {Greece} re-issued selected songs from 4 of the band’s releases (as well as 3 songs by The Awakening) on a CD titled "Axemaster & The Awakening, 1985-1995". In 2002 Unisound re-released "Death Before Dishonor" (as well as some unreleased material) on CD. The success of these discs proved that Axemaster's music remained in demand although the band had been inactive for several years.

The band's original lineup briefly re-united in 2007 and re-released "Blessing in the Skies" on disc through Burning Star Records {Greece}. The reunion was short-lived however, and the remaining members moved on to do a studio project under a different name.

In 2010, Sims permanently re-launched Axemaster and over the next couple years, started work on a new album with a lineup that included current members: bassist Jim Curtis, and vocalist Geoff McGraw. Then, in 2014, the band (along with new/current drummer Denny Archer) signed a deal with Pure Steel Records (Germany), and released the full length album "Overture to Madness" in the following year.

After taking a year to play shows in support of "Overture" and to write, the band (with new addition Damin Bennett joining Sims as dual lead guitarists) hit the studio in 2016 to record a new album.  Production on the album (which will be titled "Crawling Chaos") is nearing the final stage of completion and is due to be released by Pure Steel Records in 2017.

Axemaster's unique blend of styles (a mix of traditional metal, doom metal, and thrash metal) has proven to be a combination that appeals to metal fans from 2 different generations. This, coupled with the large amount of worldwide exposure they have received over the years and the band's resolve to keep moving forward, gives cause to expect that Axemaster will continue to achieve greater success in the future!

676 Cleveland Road
Ravenna, Ohio 44266

Geoff McGraw - Vocals/Rhythm Guitar
Joe Sims - Lead Guitar
Damin Bennett - Lead Guitar
Denny Archer - Drums
Jim Curtis - Bass
(early) Metallica - Black Sabbath/Heaven & Hell
Iron Maiden - Savatage - Slayer

Christopher Michael (Vocals-Bass) - Brian Henderson (Drums)
Eric Lynch (Vocals) - Jim Newcomb (Bass)
Terry Wilson (Vocals) - Matt Smolk (Drums)
Tony Webster (Vocals)

Axe social

YouTube -- Twitter -- Facebook --

"Overture" Is Available Directly From Axemaster!

You can buy "Overture" and other Axe & Axe related releases, merch, and collectables directly from us! JUST DROP BY THE WEBSTORE!!!!!

A sample of "Madness".....

To hear lengthy clips of all the songs from "Overture to Madness" and get a free download of the song "Sanitys Requiem", please see........

Join The Mailing List!

Axemaster Mailing List

Bang Your Head